iPad App March Madness 2014

I love basketball as much as the next person. In fact I spent a lot of hours as a kid out on our patio shooting hoops with my neighbor because his dad, Coach Baldridge, or JB to those of us who loved him best, sent him up to make me shoot! But each year during March Madness I get a little tired of all the talk of who has the best defense, who has the most players in double digits each game, who’s juniors might forego their senior year to head straight to the NBA, and on and on! So this year, I’m proposing an alternate bracket for these discussions: A head to head vote-based competition between some of the favorite iPad apps that are being used in our district right now!

I’ve chosen 16 apps that I know are being used with enthusiasm here and there in the district, and I have pitted them (very un-scientifically) against one another in a head-to-head bracket. Each week of March, there will be a Google Form emailed to staff to submit their votes, and I’ll update the bracket. If there’s an app in the running that you haven’t used, you might want to find it in the app store (they’re all free) and give it a whirl! If you have a favorite app that you want to see win the competition, generate some discussion and tell your colleagues why they, too, should vote for your favorite! You can see a portion of the bracket in the image below (drag the image around to see different parts), but use this link to visit the entire bracket online: http://brkc.co/3541

At the end of March, the winning app will get a featured entry highlighting it here on my blog, and I might even create a video featuring how to use it and what it brings to the classroom!

Think I left off an app that should have been in the running? Leave a comment on the blog and tell folks why so it can be included in next year’s iPad App March Madness!


Updates every minute – View full tournament

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *