Do you LOVE a good challenge?

 “We should teach children to love effort and challenges.”  (Carol Dweck)

I recently ran across a blog post that I read with great interest.  Kevin Washburn’s blog “SmartBlog on Education” often has summaries of great educational research or readings.  A recent post here:

http://smartblogs.com/education/2012/11/21/inscribed-upon-my-wrist-emphasizing-effort-empower-learning-kevin-washburn/

led me to reading about Carol Dweck, a researcher in the field of psychology.  She takes the position that children should be praised for persistence and hard work instead of talent or intelligence since the latter may result in a “fixed mindset” instead of a “growth mindset.”   Reading about this difference in fixed as opposed to growth mindsets in children led me to ponder it in relation to my own professional development:  Do I have a fixed or a growth mindset?  I love to learn new skills, have new experiences, even take more and more college courses and professional development opportunities.  I think I operate mostly from a mindset that fosters growth, and  I hope I always will!   I came away from the Dweck’s article, being more intent on what I say to students I encounter, though.  I hope I can help them embrace those things that are difficult and find value in the growth they have when they tackle them!

Dweck had a nice article for parents when she was interviewed for Highlights Magazine.  You can read it here:

http://www.highlightsparents.com/parenting_perspectives/interview_with_dr_carol_dweck_developing_a_growth_mindset

Reflect:  Do YOU love effort and challenges?  Identify the places in your own life, both personal and professional, that are you identify as challenges right now.  What things require much effort.  In what ways do you LOVE these things?  How can approaching these things with a “growth-mindset” result in positive outcomes?

 

1 thought on “Do you LOVE a good challenge?

  1. Vickie

    What a great post. Before I even read your entire post, I copied Carol’s quote to use in my classroom, mostly for me to remember! I have seen this play out with my students over the course of my teaching career. And I want them to continue to learn and grow, so thanks for the great info and inspiration! I am off to read the links you included…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *