It’s Not About Me

Once again Education World has come through with a motivational thought for me!  I love this website!  Today’s inspiration came from an article from Professor Joe Martin, The Educator Motivator. His article titled, “It’s Not About Us” discusses the importance of two ideas that help him make decisions and choose actions as a teacher:  First, that he is dedicated to always do what is right no matter how hard it is.  He does this NOT for the approval of others, but for the approval of God. Second, he tries to focus on the fact that he became an eductor to SERVE other people by doing what is in the best interest of his students.   His whole article is worth the read, but here are some questions he posed to help us teachers evaluate our committment teaching:

  1. Am I part of the problem or part of the solution?
  2. Do I focus on the obstacles of my job or on the opportunities?
  3. Do I make excuses or do I set a positive example for others?
  4. Do colleagues and students see me as being full of enthusiasm or full of something else?
  5. Do I brighten up my school when I enter it or when I leave it?

I’m going to print these off an post on my wall along with my current favorite quote:  “The happiest people don’t have the best of everything.  They make the best of everything!”

2 thoughts on “It’s Not About Me

  1. Pingback: 40 and Counting! | What the Tech!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *